Two UBC professors elected to the National Academy of Sciences

May 09, 2020

Two UBC professors have been elected to the US National Academy of Sciences (NAS) in 2020, in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research:

Dr. Loren Rieseberg, professor in the Department of Botany, Canada Research Chair in Plant Evolutionary Genomics, and Associate Director of Research at UBC Botanical Garden. Read the announcement on the UBC Botanical Garden website.

Dr. Janet F. Werker, professor in UBC's Department of Psychology, and Canada Research Chair in Developmental Psychology. Read the announcement on the Psychology website.

Dr. Rieseberg and Dr. Werker join five others from the UBC academic community as members of the NAS:


  • Academic Community

Visit our Research site | Visit our Students site | Visit

UBC ranks among the world’s top 20 public universities.