UBC researchers among new and renewed Canada Research Chairs

June 19, 2019

The Canadian government recently announced an investment of over $275 million for 346 new and renewed Canada Research Chairs at 52 institutions across Canada for research excellence. The Canada Research Chair program helps attract and retain top researchers across the country. At UBC, the funding will support 15 new chairs, 16 renewed chairs and one Chair advancement.

The Canada Foundation for Innovation also made an important investment towards these Chairs. It is providing more than $5.2 million in new funding for research infrastructure that will support 30 Chairs at 18 institutions, including six of the Canada Research Chairs at UBC. 

UBC has a current utilization of 205 Canada Research Chairs.


Mohammad Arjmand Canada Research Chair, Advanced Materials and Polymer Engineering, Tier 2

Marie Auger-Méthé Canada Research Chair, Statistical Ecology, Tier 2

Luke R. Bergmann Canada Research Chair, GIS, Geospatial Big Data and Digital Geohumanities, Tier 2

Julen J.E. Etxabe Canada Research Chair, Jurisprudence and Human Rights, Tier 2

Xiaoliang Jin Canada Research Chair, Advanced Manufacturing, Tier 2

Steven J.M. Jones Canada Research Chair, Computational Genomics, Tier 1

Mathav K. Murugan Canada Research Chair, Probability, Tier 2 

Warren J. Poole Canada Research Chair, Through Process Modelling of Advanced Structural Materials, Tier 1

Tarek A. Sayed Canada Research Chair, Transportation Safety and Advanced Mobility, Tier 1

U. Rashid Sumaila Canada Research Chair, Interdisciplinary Ocean and Fisheries Economics, Tier 1

Stuart E. Turvey Canada Research Chair, Pediatric Precision Health, Tier 1

Annie Vogel Ciernia Canada Research Chair, Understanding Gene Expression in the Brain, Tier 2

Yanwen Wang Canada Research Chair, Marketing Analytics, Tier 2

Elizabeth Wolkovich Canada Research Chair, Temporal Ecology, Tier 2

Naomi Zimmerman Canada Research Chair, Sustainability, Tier 2


Aaron C. Boley Canada Research Chair, Planetary Astronomy, Tier 2

Sabin Cautis Canada Research Chair, Algebraic Geometry, Tier 2

Nicholas C. Coops Canada Research Chair, Remote Sensing, Tier 1

Sean A. Crowe Canada Research Chair, Geomicrobiology, Tier 2

Vanessa de Oliveira Andreotti Canada Research Chair, Race, Inequalities and Global Change, Tier 2

Gary F. Hinshaw Canada Research Chair, Observational Cosmology, Tier 1

Christiane Hoppmann Canada Research Chair, Health and Adult Development, Tier 2

Jonathon A. Leipsic Canada Research Chair, Advanced Cardiopulmonary Imaging, Tier 2

Linda C. Li Canada Research Chair, Patient-oriented Knowledge Translation, Tier 2

Abel Rosado Canada Research Chair, Plant Cellular Dynamics, Tier 2

Galit Sarfaty Canada Research Chair, Global Economic Governance, Tier 2

Kate Shannon Canada Research Chair, Gender Equity, Sexual Health and Global Policy, Tier 2

Matthijs A. Smit Canada Research Chair, Applied Geochemistry of the Lithosphere, Tier 2

Weihong Song Canada Research Chair, Alzheimer's Disease, Tier 1

Evan Wood Canada Research Chair, Addiction Medicine, Tier 1

Jiaying Zhao Canada Research Chair, Behavioural Sustainability, Tier 2


Laurel L. Schafer Canada Research Chair, Catalyst Development, Tier 1 

  • Awards + Funding

Visit our Research site | Visit our Students site | Visit ubc.ca

UBC ranks among the world’s top 20 public universities.