Service awards

Our office maintains a directory of some of the most prestigious external service awards to encourage the recognition of outstanding faculty members.

There are also many faculty-specific internal service award opportunities available at UBC. To learn more, please consult your faculty.

The following are some examples of exernal service awards that have been received by UBC faculty members:

External Service Awards

Open All

American Psychological Association, Urie Bronfenbrenner Award for Lifetime Contributions to Developmental Psychology in the Service of Science and Society

The Urie Bronfenbrenner Award for Lifetime Contributions to Developmental Psychology in the Service of Science and Society recognizes an individual who has contributed to the science of developmental psychology over a lifetime career, and who has also worked to apply developmental psychology to society.

Association of BC Forest Professionals, Distinguished Forest Professional Award

The Distinguished Forest Professional Award recognizes an individual for outstanding service to the profession of forestry and for furthering the principles of the Association of BC Forest Professionals.

Association of Faculties of Medicine of Canada, May Cohen Equity, Diversity and Gender Award
Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists, Meritorious Achievement Award

The Meritorious Achievement Award recognizes an individual for achieving distinction and outstanding goals associated with their profession.

British Columbia Library Association's Young Adult and Children’s Services Award

The Young Adult and Children’s Services Award recognizes exceptional service in the area of children’s or teen librarianship in British Columbia.

British Columbia Life Sciences, Milton Wong Award for Leadership
British Columbia Pharmacy Association, Excellence Award

The Pharmacy Excellence Award is presented to a BCPhA member who has demonstrated significant innovation in their respective practice and/or the profession.

Canadian Agricultural Economics Society, Fellow
Canadian Association of Journalists Award

The Canadian Association of Journalists runs an annual awards program that recognizes the best in Canadian journalism—with a particular focus on investigative work.

Canadian Bar Association, BC Branch - Georges A. Goyer, QC Memorial Award for Distinguished Service

The Georges A Goyer, QC Memorial Award for Distinguished Service recognizes the exceptional contributions by any resident of BC to the legal profession, jurisprudence, to the law or development of the law, or a significant law-related benefit to the residents of BC.

Canadian Bar Association, BC Branch Award Winners

Canadian Institute of Forestry, Presidential Award

The Presidential Award is presented to individuals who have advanced the stewardship of Canada’s forest resources, demonstrated leadership in forestry, taken an active role in promoting competence among forestry professionals, and fostered public awareness of Canadian and international forestry issues.

Canadian Society for the Study of Education, Herbert T. Coutts Distinguished Service Award
Council for Prairie and Pacific University Libraries, Outstanding Contribution Award
Doctors of BC, Silver Medal of Service Award
Engineering Institute of Canada, Fellowship

The fellowship recognizes individuals who have exhibited exemplary and substantive leadership of an extraordinary nature in implementing activities that support the goals and objectives of Member and Geographic Activities at the local, regional, national and/or international level.

Fisheries & Oceans Canada, Timothy R. Parsons Medal
Rogers Writers' Trust of Canada, Fiction Prize

The Fiction Prize recognizes Canadian writers of exceptional talent for the year's best novel or short-story collection, as selected by a three-member, independent judging panel.

Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Metro Vancouver Chapter - Advocates of Architecture Award

The Advocates of Architecture Award celebrates those whose work and dedication to improving the built environment have made a significant contribution to our society.

The Governor General of Canada, Award for Meritorious Service
Women’s Executive Network, Canada's Top 100 Most Powerful Women

Canada's Top 100 Most Powerful Women recognizes the incredible accomplishments of professional women across Canada.

YWCA Woman of Distinction Award, Health + Wellness Category

A woman recognized in the Health & Wellness Category has an unwavering commitment to delivering, promoting and advocating for healthy lives and communities. She has made a significant and sustained difference in Metro Vancouver while empowering her community to change or better their lives through improved health and wellness practices. She may be a physician, practitioner, nurse or other woman committed to health and wellness.

Visit our Research site | Visit our Students site | Visit

UBC ranks among the world’s top 20 public universities.